STEP UP Creatives Ensemble – In Rehearsal with A Christmas Carol

I had a very interesting experience and gained some valuable tips and information whilst sitting in on the rehearsal. I mainly focused on the interaction between the director and the actor. I have never performed a one-man play myself before and saw what a challenging job it is. I picked up tips on how to develop characters and take them to the next level of performance when working with a piece that is carried by multiple roles playing.

Matt Cullum and Kern Falconer in rehearsal for A Christms Carol (please credit Pamela Raith)

Matt Cullum and Kern Falconer in rehearsal for A Christms Carol (please credit Pamela Raith)

The main element that I enjoyed, was seeing the thought process from the actor when taking the direction. I love seeing how different actors get into roles and even in the short space that I was in rehearsal, I saw the characters develop and come to life.

The filming of the behind-the-scenes trailer that happened that same afternoon was also a nice little treat;  it was a moment when the  actor could really let go and I was able to see more  than a performance state from him. It also gave me the chance to see the magic elements and visual tricks unfold… which was very exciting!

A Christmas Carol In Rehearsal (please credit Pamela Raith)

A Christmas Carol In Rehearsal (please credit Pamela Raith)

At first I didn’t think that I would get as much out of it as I did, but even during the next session of STEP UP I was  still thinking about some moments in the rehearsal and relating them to the task that we were doing in that session.

I cannot wait to see it!

Jen Ellis – Performer – STEP UP Creatives Ensemble 2012/ 13

Leave a Reply

