STEP UP 11 – 12 Alumni: Matt Heseltine

Hello and welcome!

Firstly, thank you very much coming here and reading this post.

You have got absolutely no idea how long I’ve been trying to write this… Take a guess?

Image

This blog has been 1 month and 5 days in the making to be precise… Why so long you ask?  Well, needless to say I’ve been at Edinburgh Fringe Festival for the whole of August and everytime I have sat down at my laptop to even write just a few bullet points – I’ve found myself drawn away to do another task. We’re 17 days on now and I’ve still got the post-Fringe blues.

The Impulse Collective

As you may or may not know, I was a part of The STEP UP Creatives Ensemble between 2011-2012 with New Perspectives Theatre Company. While there I learnt a huge amount of skills from comtemporary devising to acro-balance. To cut a long story short, I met an amazing group of people who I will always be able to turn to and learn from. We created a performance called Goldfish which toured to theatres and village halls throughout the East Midlands.

As always, it was a pleasure to see Tilly Branson pop up in my email. She asked me to write a short blog post to see how I was getting on as a STEP UP alumni… and here I am.

I won’t blabber on and bore you senseless but rather give you a quick overview of what I’m up to.

So, over the last year I have been working my socks off to create my own theatre company  with 4 other graduates… and we have actually pulled it off! Nowadays, with the lack of £££ for the Arts (insert whinge here) it’s no easy feat. Working 3 other jobs is really the only way to pay the rent (unless you have a rich uncle).

There are two strands to my business- The first is Youth and Talent Development, the other is National Touring. Our first show ‘Riot’ has been performed in several different parts of the country in schools and youth centres. We have also run workshops to look at the Young Persons skills as well as the issues discovered in the piece which looks at the 2011 UK Riots.

Riot - The Impulse Collective

The other strand to my business is National Touring – (Exposed) – The show was originally developed as a dissertation equivalent performance which takes a look at our impulses and how we experience them in everyday life. That was May 2012. It’s now September 2013 and the show that exists is a completely new beast. It’s packed full of Ensemble movement, physical theatre, comedy, experimental projection and intense drama. Essentially, we pose a question to the audience to make them reflect, think about and consider their impulses and how they are restricted. After a full run at Edinburgh Festival with very good audience sizes, Impulse Collective are ready to expand the show using more complex technology for a tour in February/March 2014. Watch this space.

Exposed - The Impulse Collective

If you’re interested in seeing the reviews of ‘Exposed’ there are plenty here including a very good ★★★★★ review from FringeGuru http://www.impulsecollective.co.uk/reviews.html

If you made it this far in the blog – thanks!

That’s all from me for now. If you fancy getting in touch please do so- I’m always up for meeting new people and chatting about everything from theatre to life in general.

Take care!

Matt Heseltine

Email – heseltine23@gmail.com

Twitter – @heseltine23 / @ImpulseCollect

Facebook – www.facebook.com/ImpulseCollective

Website – www.impulsecollective.co.uk

Leave a Reply

