Emerging Perspectives Company Diary |Session 2| Mia Johnson, Performer

Hello Emerging Perspectives!

Mia here, first off I’d like to congratulate New Perspectives on a great performance of The Lovesong of Alfred J Hitchcock at Derby Theatre on Saturday night! I really enjoyed the show. In all honesty I wasn’t quite sure who Alfred Hitchcock was, until some the cast members mentioned his films; The Birds and Psycho, but even then I’d only watched the remake of Psycho starring Vince Vaughan. Speaking to some of cast members was a good experience – finding out about their careers and what it was like to be part of New Perspectives.

The Lovesong of Alfred J Hitchcock (Pamela Raith Photography)

The Emerging Perspectives session was cool. We focused on voice. Now normally I find voice very repetitive and slightly tiresome, but it was great to refresh my skills, breathing techniques. Practicing accents was my favourite part. Jack said I should try and be an American actress (I wish Jack, I wish!). It was great meeting John the rugby player. He’s a laid back kind of guy and had a great vibe – very chilled! I’m really looking forward to progressing within the group – there’s a lot of potential here and I’m sure we will be successful in what we achieve.

Emergin Perspectives Company

P.S: On the way home from Derby I had to sit along side rowdy liquored up derby folk on the bus back to Nottingham. My headphones weren’t loud enough to cover the noise! The show was worth it though.

See you next Sunday!

Mia Johnson, Performer, Emerging Perspectives Company

Leave a Reply

